Minimalist Dreams

IMG_0861

So it is going to be a LONG night.  My little guy has been vomiting all day, and it doesn’t look like either one of us will be going to school tomorrow.

I always feel so guilty when I am not at work.  A perpetual people pleaser, I never like to disappoint anyone, and a little paranoia creeps in to cause anxiety about disappointing the people who guarantee that I have a paycheck and can afford things like my 2016 Ford Explorer, iPhone, acrylic nails with gel polish, you know, just the basics.  #firstworldproblems.

It’s not like I make that much money as a teacher.  In fact, I make peanuts – less than peanuts – peanut crumbs.  It is laughable how little I make in a month.  My husband makes way more money than I do.  We survived on his income alone all while I was in college with no problem.  Then when I started working, the money I make used to be just for extra stuff, but we have gradually upped our lifestyle until we have come to the place where we need my income.

I have been thinking a lot lately about minimalism.  We have so much STUFF.  Not like hoarder proportions, but I feel like it isn’t that far off, especially my husband.  He is his father’s son.  When my father-in-law was alive, he used to frequent swap meets and auctions, bringing home truck loads of stuff.  Occasionally it was something cool or useful, but usually it was just junk.  J has proven that the apple does not fall from the tree.  He utilizes Craigslist and OfferUp to find his treasures.  We own a kayak, a ginormous twelve tray dehydrator, all kinds of heavy-duty fitness equipment, a huge trailer, equipment for reloading ammo, and the list goes on and on.

I can’t be upset with only him.  I do have my fair share of art supplies, actually, an entire closet of them, and maybe some equipment from when I used to be a caterer.  But, beyond that, most everything I own is camera equipment and computer technology.  I don’t have a ton of clothes or shoes.  I am not into purses, but I like digital things.  That is where my money goes.  I love the easy access of ebook, music, and apps.

So that is my plan, over the next several months, is to get rid of all my non essential stuff, and cut out non-essential spending.  Then we could save some money and then my job goes back to being just extra money.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

